What Makes Wine Not Vegan | Can Vegans Drink Wine

No, wine is not vegan. It’s easy to assume that wine is vegan because the primary ingredient in wine is grapes. However, as most vegans know, it’s just as important to know how food and drinks are made as it is to know the ingredients found in them. 

What Makes Wine Not Vegan?

The process of turning those grapes into wine often involves using animal-derived fining agents. This is what PETA has to say about it:

The majority of people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. During the winemaking process, the liquid is filtered through substances called “fining agents.” This process is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles.

Several of the fining agents are often made from animal byproducts. When they are, the wine becomes non-vegan.

Can Vegans Drink Wine?

Personal Wine is committed to providing our customers with certified vegan wines so you know that what you’re drinking is right for you. Here are four great-tasting vegan wines we are proud to sell. Whether you want to keep it for yourself or gift it to a friend, all of our wine bottles can be personalized with either a creative label or a message etched-in glass on it.


Red Wine

Is red wine vegan?

The ripe, luscious Prisoner Napa Magnum is our red vegan wine. Sold in our large format bottles so many friends can enjoy this delicious wine together, this cabernet’s formula was created by Italian immigrants. It features enticing aromas of Bing cherry, dark chocolate, clove, and roasted fig. Persistent flavors of ripe raspberry, boysenberry, pomegranate, and vanilla linger harmoniously, for a smooth and luscious finish. This wonderful wine is a great gift – and the bottle makes a great keepsake. 


Sparkling Wines

We currently offer two kinds of vegan sparkling wines from which you can choose.


G.H. Mumm

Is sparkling wine vegan?

This champagne is consistently ranked as a favorite in the world. G.H. Mumm Brut Champagne is bright, sparkling, and golden in color, with an abundance of fine and elegant bubbles. Its initial aroma is composed of different fruits, and the taste is a fabulous blend of different flavor notes, including caramel and yeast. It finishes with varying aromas of dried fruit and honey. Its fresh, strong, and complex taste makes it more than just your average run-of-the-mill champagne. It will be the highlight of any party. 


Non-Alcoholic Cider

With this delicious bottle of cider, your vegan friends who prefer not to drink alcohol can still be included in any celebration! It’s 100% pure apple juice from some of the best U.S.-grown apples. Martinelli’s Gold Medal apple juice products, including this delectable bottle of sparkling cider, have won more than 50 gold medals for product excellence. This cider pairs well with everything, and has the elegant appearance of a bottle of champagne but without the alcohol.  


With these wonderful choices, you or any of your vegan friends don’t have to be left out of any party. You can enjoy your wine right along with your friends and be grateful that you don’t have to sacrifice your lifestyle to be included.

six steps to one perfect wine gift